What does a new veggie gardener in New England need?

claireplymouth z6b coastal MAJanuary 1, 2013

Image by: pixie_lou
Wonderful basket of cherry tomatoes This is a thread that was posted in the New England Gardening Forum in September, 2013. A few minor edits have been made to correct typos, but otherwise the content is as posted.

Claire

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What does a new veggie gardener need?

Posted by ontheteam 5a-6 (S.Eastern, MA) (My Page) on Sun, Sep 15, 13 at 21:51

Hi gang! A friend of mine wants to start growing her own veggies. She asked me what she would need to get started...and I drew a blank LOL It's been a long time since I was a newbie. SO I told her

1) A strong back

2) hand trowels

3) a pitch fork

4) a square headed shovel

what would you say?

I also told her to make her plot area now by laying manure down covered with several layers of news papers. â¨What do you think is the best way to start a veggie plot from scratch? â¨She may stop by because no new gardener advice would be complete with out a link to this forum lol..I know you all will be super kind and helpful to her!

Follow-Up Postings:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- RE: What does a new veggie gardener need?

Posted by defrost49 5 (My Page) on Mon, Sep 16, 13 at 7:59

I like to start beds using the lasagna method so wet newspapers go down first than top with alternating layers of green (fresh grass clippings, kitchen waste) and brown (chopped leaves). I top with composted manure in the spring. Bed should be about 24" high. It will settle, compost, etc over winter. Using the lasagna method, you don't need a tiller.